#LifeWithMims: Knocking doors

IMG_5388

Hey my lovely friends!

How are you? It’s the first week after vacation and I’ve been a busy bee, but before continuing with my tasks, I wanted to give you a quick update on the blog.

Two days ago I was sending an article to one of my editors, and I found an e-mail I sent her almost 4 years ago, to ask her for the chance to write on one of the sites I write for now. When I read it, I remembered the girl that wrote those words and how bad she wanted to be a writer, and then I realized that if I hadn’t knocked doors, I wouldn’t be here, being a contributor for two of the sites I admire the most, Belelú and Thought Catalog. After that e-mail I told you about, I was rejected, but I kept trying millions of times, always improving and learning something new, until I got my column there.

I share with you this story because I want to invite you to not be afraid of knocking doors and ask for opportunities. Send e-mails, follow on Twitter or Instagram someone you admire or has the job of your dreams, message them on a polite way and ask for advice, send resumés, share your work and I’m 100% that your dreams and goals will come true!

Love,

-Mims

IMG_5421

¡Hola mi gente bella!

¿Cómo están? No puedo creer que es a penas la primera semana después de vacaciones y ya he andado con miles de cosas que hacer, pero antes quería darles una pequeña actualización en el blog.

Hace dos días, mientras le enviaba uno de mis artículos a una de mis editoras, encontré un correo que le envié a ella en el 2013, en el que le pedía la oportunidad de escribir en uno de los sitios en los que escribo ahora. Cuando lo leí me dio mucha ternura, porque me acordé de la niña que escribió esos correos y que día y noche soñaba con escribir para esa página. También me di cuenta que si no hubiera tenido el valor de tocar puertas, jamás hubiera cumplido uno de mis sueños. Esta no fue la única vez que traté, es más, fuero muchísisisimas, y en varias me rechazaron.

Les comparto esta historia porque los quiero invitar a quitarse el miedo de tocar puertas y buscar oportunidades. Manden correos, sigan a las personas que admiran en Twitter o Instagram y mándenles en mensaje educado, pidan consejos, compartan su trabajo y sigan tratando, porque les garantizo que así lograrán sus sueños y metas.

Gracias por visitar el blog,

-Mims

Outfit Details:

Blouse: Bershka

Jeans: Vintage

Bag: Forever 21

Shoes: Sandy Shoes

Photos: Esther Requeno

 

Responder

