The new road as single girl

DSC_4189

 

When I read the words “single girl”, all I can think about is a Carrie Bradshaw-like woman. Confident, powerful and rocking a nice pair of shoes.

I’m a single girl right now, and for the first time in a while, I’m okay with that and I really feel like a “Carrie Bradshaw”.

Also, it feels like life has been telling me to focus more on myself and less on my phone and the unanswered texts, or mediocre guys. It seemed like a curse that every guy that I liked or I was interested in, suddenly appeared with girlfriend or we just stopped talking.

Even though I was disappointed everytime something like that happened, I realized there was a pattern I had been following, and that something wasn’t right with that. But the funny part here was that at the same time my love life looked like a Tina Fay comedy, my professional life was starting to bloom. More opportunities as a writer, as a blogger, as a social media manager, and even including opportunities at a new gym were starting to pop up.

One of my best friends taught me that life gives you signals, and that it’s up to you if you follow them or not. I decided to follow mine. Listening to my signals I understood that, maybe right now, life is telling me that it is time to commit to myself and be the best woman I can be. Maybe life is telling me that I have to start staring less at my screen waiting for a text and start living more; and maybe, just maybe, life is telling me that today is the perfect time to achieve the body I want, with that booty that I’ve always wanted (looool).

At this point in my life I don’t want a relationship, because the breakup of the last one I had was, and somehow still is, mentally exhausting for me, but that story goes on another post.

DSC_4140I’m still not sure what I want when it comes to love, but the more confident and powerful I feel with myself and the woman I am, the more I realize that I don’t want a kid as a boyfriend. I want someone with whom I can grow with but also, someone that doesn’t feel intimidated with me and the person I want to be.

Everything will fall into place when the time comes, but for now it hasn’t. I’m not sure where my new opportunities and my new open doors are going to lead me, but I trust that they will lead me where God wants me to be at that time.

 


DSC_4262

Cuando leo las palabras “chica soltera”, lo único que pienso es en una mujer tipo Carrie Bradshaw. Segura, confianza y con un lindo par de zapatos.

Ahorita soy “una chica soltera” y por primera vez en mucho tiempo, estoy bien con eso, porque realmente me siento como una “Carrie Bradshaw”.

También, siento que la vida me ha ido dando pequeñas pistas y me ha ido diciendo que me tengo que enfocar más en mi misma y no en tipos que no están realmente interesados en mi. Parecía una maldición lo que tenía, que cada chico que me gustaba o en el que estaba interesada, de la nada aparecía con novia o dejábamos de hablar.

A pesar que estaba decepcionada por cada vez que eso pasaba, me di cuenta que era un patrón que estaba siguiendo y que algo no estaba bien.

Pero aquí, la parte divertida e interesante era que cada vez que mi vida amorosa parecía una comedia de Tina Fey, mi vida profesional parecía comenzar a florecer. Más oportunidades como escritora, como blogger y con mi trabajo surgían, e incluso, hasta nuevo gym me apareció.

Una vez, una de mis mejores amigas me enseñó que la vida te da señales, y que de ti depende  si las decides seguir o no, y yo he decidido seguir las mías.

Escuchándolas, entendí que quizás ahorita la vida me está diciendo que es tiempo de comprometerme conmigo y con la mejor versión de mi que pueda llegar a ser. Quizás la vida ahorita me está diciendo que tengo que dejar el celular y vivir más, y talvez, solo talvez, la vida me está diciendo que es ahora es el momento perfecto para lograr el cuerpazo con booty incluído que siempre he querido.

DSC_4219

En este punto de mi vida, no quiero una relación, porque el rompimiento de la última que tuve, fue y en cierta forma todavía es un poco, mentalmente agotador para mí, pero esos temas son para otro post.

No estoy segura de que quiero ahorita en cuanto a las relaciones, pero mientras más segura me siento de mi y de quien soy, me doy cuenta que no quiero andar con un niñito. Quiero a alguien con quien pueda crecer, pero también alguien que no se sienta intimidado por quien soy y la mujer que quiero llegar a ser.

Sé que las cosas caerán en su lugar cuando el tiempo sea el correcto, pero ahorita no lo es. No estoy segura donde me van a llevar todas estas nuevas oportunidades y puertas abiertas que la vida me está poniendo, pero confío que todo esto me llevará donde Dios quiere que esté en ese momento.

 

Outfit Details

Blouse: J.Crew

Shorts: H&M

Earrings: Little Things

Photos: Nelson Calderón Photography

Un comentario en “The new road as single girl

Responder

