The Woman I Am

This year had been hard for me.

DSC_8721

Thanks God I have my health, my home and my family okay, but I’ve struggled a lot with who I am and the woman I want to be when I grow up, and that had been nerve wrecking for my own self and my mind.

I started this year wanting to become a better christian and a better woman, and my goals were (and now I’m embarrassed to admit) just to become the perfect christian wifey. Yeah my readers, that’s what was going on on my mind the whole time, even when my posts talked about girl power, #girlboss and encouragement.

I pictured myself married with the guy from the missions trip, wearing long skirts or southern boots and 100% dedicated to my husband and kids. I had this perfect timeline on my mind that included meeting the one by 21, being engaged by 23 and getting married by 24, because that’s what I saw in other christian girls, and I thought: “They are good women, I’m sure that happens to all the women that walk close with God and I want to follow God, so now I’m just going to sit and wait for my man and accept God’s will that is to become a wifey”.

The Bible studies and sites I used to read didn’t help that much, and because the things I thought were right didn’t happen to me as I planned, my faith was weak, my concerns were bigger and my anxiety was at the top.

I struggled a lot because I thought “I love fashion with all my heart, I’m passionate about it, but if I want to be a good christian, I shouldn’t have this blog or aspire to work on a magazine, I should focus more on doing missions and leading Bible studies, but I don’t want to leave this. Is loving fashion and beauty stuff a sin? Should I stop dreaming of this and just aspire to become the perfect wife and modest christian girl?”

 netflix britt robertson girlboss GIF

Because of that, every week I had breakdowns. A part of me wanted to follow her dreams, but another part of me thought that this wasn’t right.

A few weeks ago, I had a deep conversation with one of my best friends while we drank mimosas and ate macaroons. I told her how scared I was of God’s plan for my life, because I thought that He wanted a mediocre life for me, and then, she said something that changed my life: “It won’t happen the way you think (becoming just the perfect wifey with an average job and 100% dedicated to the hubs and kids with a job I didn’t like) because God doesn’t want you to be unhappy“. BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!! Mindblowing!!!!

 boom know emotions emotional mind blown GIF

There I understood that I can the woman I want to be and still have a great relationship with God. I was surrounded with a lot of silly stuff like “don’t wear shorts because is a sin showing your legs”, “don’t do your hair and makeup as you want because is not right for a christian girl”, “prepare yourself for a husband and wait for him”, “don’t listen to music, just worship songs”, “don’t dance, it’s tempting for the guys”, that I was frustrated!! I thought that I was born to be a frustrated adult with an unhappy life.

But now, on april 11 of 2017, I can finally say that my mind and my soul are calmed. The last weeks had been to accept myself, to not being ashamed of what I like and what I do and to celebrate how unperfect but perfectly loved I am.

All this time, my list of prayers included meeting women that were real #girlbosses but also women that believed in God, and last week I had the chance of having coffee with Sofia Aparicio, one of the most inspiring women I’ve ever met ❤

Then I realized that I’m surrounded by a lot of women like that, that have a strong faith, want to become better christians but also they are real. They don’t go around the world making them feel miserable or denying life pleasures like listening to their favorite song, dancing, wearing the red lipstick they love or  they enjoying that giant bowl of pasta.

My mom, my grandmas, my aunts and my best friends are that kind of women, and I’m proud of having them on my life.

After these days, my mind is finally quiet. I feel happy with who I am; the girl that loves fashion, wants to work for a magazine, wants to empower women and young girls, wants to have a bikini line someday, wants to get married when she feels ready, wants to have kids, wants to travel, wants to learn a new language, wants to study abroad, wants to be a voice for women that don’t have, wants to work with teen girls that have the stuggles she had, and finally, a girl that wants to love God with her heart.


Este año ha sido difícil para mi.

DSC_8721

Gracias a Dios tengo salud, mi hogar está bien y mi familia también, pero he luchado un montón conmigo misma, con la mujer que soy y la que me quiero convertir.

Comencé este año queriendo ser mejor cristiana y mejor mujer, y mis metas eran (y ahora me da tanta pena admitirlo) solo convertirme en la esposita bonita perfectita. Sí mis queridos lectores, a pesar que mis posts eran para empoderar a las mujeres y #girlboss aquií y allá, secretamente solo quería eso.

Me imaginaba casada con el tipito del viaje de misiones, usando faldas largas y botitas sureñas y 100% dedicada a mi esposo e hijos. Tenía en mi mente esta línea de tiempo perfecta que incluía conocer al indicado a los 21, estar comprometida a los 23 y casada a los 24, porque eso es lo que había visto en otras chicas cristianas, y pensaba: “Ellas son buenas mujeres, estoy segura que esto le pasa a todas las que caminan de cerca con Dios y yo quiero caminar de cerca con Él, así que ahora solo me voy a sentar a esperar por mi hombre y a aceptar la voluntad de Dios, que estoy segurísima que es convertirme en la esposita perfectita”

Los estudios biblícos y los sitios cristianos que leía no me ayudaban mucho, y porque las cosas que yo pensaba que eran correctas no pasaban como yo quería, mi fe era débil, mis preocupaciones eran gigantes y mi ansiedad estaba a mil por hora.

Luchaba un montón con esto porque pensaba “Me encanta la moda y tengo una gran pasión por esto, pero si quiero ser buena cristiana, no debería tener este blog o aspirar a trabajar en una revista, me debería enfocar más en hacer misiones y liderar estudios biblícos, pero no quiero dejar de hacer lo que me gusta. ¿Qué me guste la moda es pecado? ¿Debería dejar de soñar con todo esto y solamente aspirar a ser la mujer cristiana modesta y perfecta?.”

 netflix britt robertson girlboss GIF

Por eso, cada semana tenía colapsos mentales. Una parte de mi quería seguir sus sueños, pero otra parte de mi pensaba que estaba mal.

Hace unas semanas, tuve una conversación profunda con una de mis mejores amigas mientras tomábamos mimosas y comíamos macarons. Le conté a ella lo asustada que estaba de el plan de Dios para mi porque pensaba que Él quería que yo fuera sufrida y con una vida mediocre, pero luego ella dijo algo que me cambió la vida: “No va a pasar como pensás (eso de convertirme en la esposita perfectita dejando quien yo soy de lado por dedicarme a mi familia al 100%) porque Dios no quiere que seas infeliz. ¡BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!

 boom know emotions emotional mind blown GIF

Ahí fue cuando entendí que puedo ser la mujer que aspiro ser y aún así tener una gran relación con Dios.

Estaba rodeada de cosas tontas sentido como “no uses shorts, mostrar las piernas es tentar”, “No te maquilles y arregles tanto, no es correcto para una chica cristiana”, “preparate para tu esposo y esperalo”, “no escuches música del mundo, solo alabanzas”, “no bailes, es tentación para los hombres”, y tener todo ese bombardeo en mi mente me hacía sentir que yo había nacido para ser un adulto frustrado e infeliz.

Pero ahora, 11 de abril de 2017, puedo decir finalmente que mi mente y mi alma están calmadas. Estas últimas semanas han sido para aceptarme, para no sentirme avergonzada de lo que me gusta y me gusta hacer y para celebrar lo imperfecta pero perfectamente amada que soy”.

Todo este tiempo, mi lista de oraciones incluía concoer mujeres que fueran verdaderas #girlbosses pero que también creyeran en Dios, y la semana pasada tuve la oportunidad de ir por un café con Sofia Aparicio, una de las mujeres más inspiradoras que he conocido en mi vida.

Luego me di cuenta que estoy rodeada de muchas mujeres de ese tipo, que tienen una fe fuerte, quieren ser mejores cristianas pero también son reales. No andan por el mundo sintiéndose miserables o negándose placeres como escuchar su canción favorita, bailar, usar el labial rojo que tanto aman o disfrutar de un bowl gigante de pasta.

Mi mamá, mis abuelas, mis tías y mis mejores amigas son de este tipo de mujer, y estoy orgullosa de tenerlas a todas ellas en mi vida.

Después de mucho, por fin mi mente está tranquila. Me siento feliz con quien soy; una niña que ama la moda, aspira trabajar en una revista, quiere empoderar a las mujeres y adolescentes, quiere tener una línea de bikinis algún día, se quiere casar cuando se sienta lista, quiere tener hijos, quiere viajar, quiere aprender nuevos idiomas, quiere estudiar en otro país, quiere ser una voz para las mujeres que no tienen, quiere trabajar con adolescentes que han pasado lo mismo que ella y finalmente, una niña que quiere amar a Dios con todo su corazón, siendo quien ella realmente es.

Outfit Details:

T-shirt: Color Ink

Shoes: Bershka

Cap: Nike

Jacket: Wet Seal

Ph: Nelson Calderón Photography

Responder

