I’m not her, the girl with perfect hair

Hello my lovey doveys ❤

her

Design by: Maker Design 24/7

On friday, I had a Sex and The City marathon + cheat meal of the week moment during lunch. Definitely it was something I needed after these days of billions of thoughts on my mind.I remembered that I started writing because of Carrie Bradshaw, and up to this day, she is one of my biggest inspirations ever. I still fantasize about running around New York City with a tutu skirt and a fabulous pair of Manolos, and I hope it happens someday (I’m not sure about the tutu skirt though).

After my binge watching moment, I started to think a lot about the episode when Carrie feels overwhelmed of meeting Natasha, the gorgeous new girlfriend of his ex, because that’s how I’ve felt a lot of times on my life.

It’s not always about the new girl that the guy I was into is now dating, sometimes is about those girls that look like have everything together on their life: a succesful career (or whatever it is when you’re still on university), a lot of new opportunities and doors opened, a perfect body, perfect hair, perfect pointy little nose…and the list goes on, and I’m just there, existing and considering having a huge glass of pink wine or a Cosmopolitan everytime you think about that.

This is wrong in so many ways! And as women, we fail to ourselves everytime we feel less than other girls. I’ve failed to my own self so many times, and I have to apologize, not only with me, but also with life, because I’m learning that everyone has a different path, a different story and what is meant to be for you won’t be taken away.

I am far from perfect. I don’t have everything together on my life, I’m writing this post with my senior t-shirt, ugly gym shorts, socks and two tiny braids on my hair. I’m a little goofy, I don’t know how to flirt, but all my imperfections are what make me special (Yes I am and also YOU are my ladies!).

For the first time on life, I’m okay with not being little miss perfect.

As my lovely Carrie once said, “I will never be the woman with the perfect hair, who can wear white and not spill on it”  and it’s true. I will never be. I will never be this perfect looking girl that seems unreachable to the world. I will never be the kind of girl looks completely polished, like a fragile doll, because I’m everything but fragile and delicate.

Yes, I might be tiny because I’m just 4’11 and I don’t lift more than 10 pounds at the gym, but all I’ve been through and all the lessons I’ve learned had made me a stronger.

I hate being seen as a delicate doll, because I’m human. I make a lot of mistakes, when I haven’t eaten I get cranky, I try to speak words of kindess and love, but sometimes the inner sailor comes out, I love hanging out with my guy friends and also I love with all my heart spending time with my girls. I talk about the Kardashians but also I know a lot about art and books. I can be sweet and sometimes I am mean.

And you know what? I’m happy, because I am so done with trying to be the girl that has everything together. I am a Tina Fey in a world of Taylor Swifts, but it’s fine. That’s me.


¡Hola mis lectores! ❤

El viernes tuve un maratón de Sex and The City + cheat meal de la semana durante el almuerzo. Definitivamente era algo que necesitaba después de tantos pensamientos en mi mente.

Recuerdo que empecé a escribir gracias a Carrie Bradshaw, y hasta la fecha, ella es una de mis más grandes inspiraciones. Todavía fantaseo con andar corriendo por Nueva York con una faldita tutu y unos increíbles Manolos, y espero que así sea algún día (aunque no estoy segura de la falda tutu)

Después de mi super maratón, comencé a pensar muchísimo en el episodio en el que Carrie se siente abrumada porque va a conocer a Natasha, la increíblemente guapa nueva novia de su ex, porque así es como me he sentido muchas veces en mi vida.

No siempre es sobre la nueva chica del chico que me gustó, algunas veces es solamente el ver a esas niñas que parece que lo tienen todo resuelto en su vida: una carrera exitosa ( o lo que sea que se pueda tener cuando todavía se está en la u), un montón de oportunidades y puertas abiertas, un cuerpo perfecto, un cabello perfecto, una narizita respingadita y perfecta…y la lista sigue, y yo solo estoy ahí, existiendo y considerando tomarme una copa gigante de vino rosado o un Cosmopolitan cada vez que pienso en eso.

¡Esto está tan mal! Y como mujeres, nos fallamos a nosotras mismas cada vez que nos sentimos menos que otras. Me he fallado a mi misma tantas veces, y me tengo que disculpar, no solo conmigo, sino con la vida, porque estoy aprendiendo poco a poco que cada uno tiene un camino diferente, y lo que es de uno, nadie se lo quita.

Estoy  a kilometros de ser perfecta. No tengo todo descifrado en mi vida, estoy escribiendo este post con mi camiseta de promoción, shorts feos del gimnasio, calcetines y dos colitas en mi cabello. Soy un poco despistada, no tengo ni la mínima idea de como coquetear, pero todas esas imperfecciones son las que me hacen especial (Sí, soy especial y también ustedes lo son mis niñas)

Por primera vez en mi vida, estoy feliz de no ser la pequeña señorita perfección.

Como mi amada Carrie dijo uan vez, “Yo nunca seré la mujer con el cabello perfecto, que puede usar blanco sin derramar cosas en él” y es verdad, nunca lo seré. Nunca seré la chica que se perfecta y alcanzable al mundo. Nunca seré el tipo de chica que se ve impecable, como una muñequita frágil, porque soy todo menos delicada y frágil.

Si, puede que sea pequeñita porque mido 1.50 y no levanto más de 10 libras en el gimnasio, pero todo lo que he vivido y aprendido me ha hecho fuerte.

Es más, odio que me vean como una muñequita delicada, porque soy humano. Cometo miles de errores, cuando no he comido me pongo de mal humor, trato de hablar y compartir con todos cosas buenas, pero de vez en cuando el marinerito interior se me sale, amo compartir con mis amigos tanto como con mis amigas, hablo de las Kardashian, pero también se mucho de libros y arte. Puedo ser dulce muchas veces y otras no lo soy.

¿Y saben qué? Estoy feliz con quien soy, porque ya estoy harta de tratar de aparentar que lo tengo todo resuelto y todo es perfecto. Soy una Tina Fey en medio de un mundo de Taylor Swifts, pero está bien, esa soy yo.

Responder

