Don’t compare your story, you have your own

Hello beautiful people ❤

Since last thursday I wanted to write about this ugly, annoying and disgusting monster called comparison. I think that at some point of our lives, all of us have struggled with that, and let’s face it…it sucks! You feel like crap 🙂

I tend to compare my life and my achievements, and at the end of the day, I feel unsuccessful and miserable. I am guilty of focusing  more on what other girls with picture perfect Instagram accounts have,  instead of celebrating what I have and what the Lord has given me.

Last week I was being this annoying little witch (yeah, I thought another word but this is a family friendly blog so I can’t use it) and I complained every single day with God about EVERYTHING!

“GOD WHY I DON’T HAVE ALL THE INSTAGRAM FOLLOWERS THAT SHE HAS?” “GOD WHY YOU HAVEN’T GIVEN ME A LOVE STORY LIKE THE ONE SHE HAS?”, “UGHHH GOD DO YOU HATE ME? I MEAN, YOU COULD HAVE MADE ME SOME INCHES TALLER AND SOME INCHES THINNER?!”

tv reactions eyes annoyed eye roll

Poor God! He had to deal with me all the week and still He loved me unconditionally. He really is a loving father.

I was feeling so sad and angry about my life, that I decided to talk with my friend Ale and my mom about this, and I think that I learned a huge lesson about God’s plan, timing and being grateful.

God knows me and He knows what He’s doing. It’s so hard to understand and it’s even harder to accept, but at the end, that is what I HAVE to do, because that is the right way and the safe path. Also I learned that I have to be grateful. I know that I am not where I want to be yet, but I’m on my way, and instead of complaining about it, I have to thank Him everyday for everything that He has given me.

Because I used to compared myself with other girls, I even wanted love stories like theirs. My thoughts were “so they met their significant others on this way, I have to meet the love of my life on the same way and we’re going to have a love story that crosses countries with an awesome relationship and everything will be awesome”…so the last time I met a cute boy from another country, I thought “THIS IS IT! THANKS GOD, OH HEAVENLY FATHER FOR SENDING ME THIS GORGEOUS MAN TO BECOME MY HUSBAND AND FATHER OF MY KIDS, THIS IS IT! I’M SO READY TO BECOME A WIFE”

yes yas agree praise preach

and my dear readers…after we met we just texted like three times…so definitely someone was wrong here and it wasn’t him.

Thinking about this makes me realize how ridiculous I tend to be when I don’t appreciate what I really have on my hands right now. Guys, I’m beyond blessed! I have a loving family that mean the world to me (MOM AND DAD AND JAVY AND ARI I LOVE YOU SO SO SO SO MUCH!!),a group of gorgeous and wonderfully made friends that support me, love me and encourage me to be a better human, I have a home where I go everyday and I have my three meals, a roof and a bed, I have access to education, I am healthy and my body is functioning right, I have pursued some of my dreams…woah!! Thinking about that is overwhelming!

After that conversation with my friend and my mom, I felt so embarrased about my attitudes but also I felt hope again. Right now all I want to think is about me and what God has for me, MIMI. God has written my own career story, my own success story, my own love story and I’m sure that every story the Lord has written for me is more perfect than I could ever imagine.

And now, what I want to do is to live with less expectations from the world and more from the Lord. BUT HEEEEY! That doesn’t mean I’m going to stay at home waiting for a scholarship, a new writing gig, a partner or a plane ticket, instead, this means that I’m going to place God first on everything I do and He will give me the tools to achieve what I aspire to have if it’s part of His perfect plan. I want to explore, to learn, to meet new people, to go out for coffee or to the movies, to make new friends…I want to live my 20’s to the fullest and celebrate my life and what God is doing on it.


¡Hola mi gente linda! ❤

Desde el jueves pasado tenía ganas de escribir de este feo, molesto y asqueroso monstruo llamado comparación. Creo que todos pasamos por esto en algún momento de nuestras vidas y la verdad es horrible…nos hace sentir como basura 🙂

Yo tiendo a comparar mi vida y mis logros, y al final del día, en lugar de sentirme feliz, me siento fracasada y miserable. Me declaro culpable de enfocarme más en lo que otras niñas con vidas perfectas de Instagram tienen, en lugar de celebrar lo que tengo y lo que Dios me ha dado.

La semana pasada les confieso que estaba siendo esta caprichosa y rebelde bruja que se quejaba por todo con Dios, todos los días.

“DIOS, ¿POR QUÉ NO TENGO TODOS LOS SEGUIDORES DE INSTAGRAM QUE ELLA TIENE?”, “DIOS, ¿POR QUÉ NO ME HAS DADO UNA HISTORIA DE AMOR COMO LA DE ESA CHICA?”, “UGHHH DIOS, ¿ACASO ME ODIAS? DIGO, ME PUDISTE HABER HECHO ALGUNOS CENTÍMETROS MÁS ALTA Y ALGUNAS PULGADAS MÁS DELGADA”.

tv reactions eyes annoyed eye roll

¡Pobresito Dios! Tuvo que aguantarme toda la semana, y aún así, Él me amaba incondicionalmente. De verdad que es un padre amoroso.

Estaba tan triste y tan enojada por mi vida, que decidí hablar con mi amiga Ale y con mi mami sobre esto,  y fue aquí donde aprendí una gran lección sobre el plan de Dios, el tiempo perfecto y ser agradecida.

Dios me conoce y Él sabe lo que está haciendo. Es tan difícil entenderlo y aún más el aceptarlo, pero al final, se que es lo que TENGO que hacer, porque es la forma correcta y el camino seguro. También aprendí a ser más agradecida. Sé que todavía no estoy donde quiero estar, pero estoy en camino, y en lugar de quejarme por eso, debo agradecerle a Dios por todo lo que me ha dado.

Por el mismo hecho que solía compararme con otras chicas, hasta quería que mi historia de amor fuera como las de ellas. Mis ideas eran “Bueno, si ella conocieron a sus chicos de esa manera, yo también lo tengo que conocer de esa manera, y vamos a tener un hermoso amor que va a cruzar países y fronteras y todo será increíble”…y es por eso que la última vez que conocí a un chico guapísimo de otro país, pensé: “¡ESTO ES! ¡AQUÍ ME QUEDO! MUCHAS GRACIAS MI PADRE CELESTIAL, DIOS MIO, POR ESTE HOMBRE GUAPO QUE SERÁ MI ESPOSO Y PADRE DE MIS HIJOS. ¡AQUÍ ME QUEDO! ESTOY TAN LISTA PARA CASARME”

yes yas agree praise preach

y mis queridos lectores…después que lo conocí solo hablamos como tres veces…definitivamente alguien aquí estaba equivocado y no era él chico guapo.

Pensar en esto me da risa y me hace pensar en lo ridícula que me pongo cuando no valoro ni aprecio lo que tengo en mis manos ahorita. Gente, ¡soy más que bendecida! Tengo una familia amorosa que significa el mundo para mi (MAMI Y PAPI Y JAVY Y ARI LOS AMO COMO NO TIENEN IDEA), un grupo de guapas amigas con un corazón bello, tengo una casa a la que llego todos los días y mis tres tiempos de comida, tengo un techo, una cama, acceso a educación, estoy sana y mi cuerpo funciona bien y hasta he podido cumplir algunos de mis sueños. ¡Wow! El solo pensar en esto me abruma

Después de esa conversación con mi amiga y con mi mami, me sentí tan avergonzada por mis actitudes, pero también me sentí llena de esperanza. Ahorita mismo en lo único que quiero pensar es en mi y en lo que Dios tiene para mi, Mimi. Él ha escrito mi propia historia profesional, mi propia historia de éxito, mi propia historia de amor, y estoy segura que cada una de las que Él ha escrito es para mi es más perfecta de lo que me puedo imaginar.

Y ahorita otra cosa que quiero hacer es vivir con menos expectativas del mundo y más de Dios. ¡¡¡PERO HEEEEEY!!! Eso no significa que voy a estar en mi casa esperando por una beca, una nueva oportunidad de escribir, una pareja o un boleto de avión, más bien, esto significa que voy a poner a Dios primero en todo lo que haga y sé que Él me dará las herramientas necesarias para alcanzar mis sueños, si es que estos son parte de Su plan.

Ahorita quiero explorar, aprender, conocer nuevas personas, ir por un café o al cine con más amigos y amigas, hacer nuevos amigos…quiero vivir mis 20’s a lo máximo y celebrar mi vida y lo que Dios está haciendo en ella.

 P.D: No dejen de seguir a Maker Design 24/7 para diseños y typos super chivas

2 comentarios en “Don’t compare your story, you have your own

Responder

