The irrational fear of Valentine’s Day

Hello! My name is Mimi and two days ago I was terrified of Valentine’s Day.

valentinesday

Yes, it sounds crazy, it sounds funny and I might sound like a desperate single girl, but no guys, I’m not. I’m just a young adult with a lot of books, chick flicks and Pinterest on her mind.

valentines day raven thats so raven vday happy valentines day

The morning I felt scared of the worldwide famous day, I was thinking about how I was going to feel everytime I saw a cute Instagram post or an engagement picture from people I know. I knew that all the day I was going to be asking the Lord: “WHEN IS IT GOING TO BE MY TURN?!?!”.

No, God didn’t texted me “Hey Mims! Your turn will be next month! So get ready. Love you! ❤ ” or something like that, but I had peace on my heart when I remembered the words one of my friends said. He mentioned that for God nothing is impossible, and that if He wanted me to have a succesful career as writer or He wanted me to have a boyfriend, He would do that, but He doesn’t want that right now, and that’s part of His perfect plan.

Yeah, sounds super easy to say that, but for me, believing has been hard, specially with all these people saying to me stuff like “after school you won’t meet new people, so probably you will be single forever”, “you are almost 22 and single! you are not a kid anymore, you need to start settling down”or the annoying “you want too much on a future partner that you will have nothing”.

It would be so easy talking to every boy that shows flirty with me, kissing the guys I find cute and dating like there’s no tomorrow, but…What would God say about that? What would my parents say about that? Would I be honoring them? (Ecclesiastes 7:1)

*PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE understand that there’s a difference between dating and getting to know people, and I strongly believe that you don’t have to be locked on your room waiting for God to send you a partner and that he will knock your door. You have to be involved in activities you like and enjoy, so you can meet people with the same interests you have. If you like certain kind of music, going to missions trips, going to youth groups, cooking classes or learning another language, do it, enjoy it and make new friends. Talk to people and get to know them. Not every guy is a bf material, some of them might end up being good friends that will make you grow as person 🙂  and PLEASE make sure that if you want a Godly relationship, don’t go to Tinder -JUST NOT-.

Above I mentioned God’s plan and timing, and for me, being patient is a struggle. I want everything NOW and ASAP, and when I don’t get what I want, I get mad with God and with life. I want to date right now the cute -super tall and perfectly looking to my eyes- boy I met but then, when I’m on my 5 senses, I realize that: 1. The cute boy left me on seen the last monday and the most important, that I’m not ready for any kind of relationship and that having one right now wouldn’t be the wisest choice.

I’m a new christian, still lose track of my main goal that is glorifying God, sometimes I have doubts, I’ve made having a significant other one of my idols and my faith is not the strongest one. There are a lot of things about christianity that I don’t understand and I have just one month that I started going to church with my mom and grandma (PRAISE THE LORD FOR THAT <3) , so right now, having a relationship would be a huge fail and wouldn’t be the godly relationship I aspire to have. (Colossians 3:2).

This is not a story with a fairytale ending, and this Valentine’s day it’s going to be another one without a date, but it’s the first time ever that I got over my irrational fear. The Lord has showed me that there’s more in this world than having a partner. Don’t get me wrong, I still think that relationships with real love -like my mom and dad- are a precious thing, I still want to get married and all that, but it’s not my time yet.

God doesn’t want me with a boo now, but He wants me to enjoy time with my awesome, gorgeous and wonderfully made friends. He wants me to work hard to keep the good grades, He wants me to do my best on my job, He wants me to create posts for this blog and for Thought Catalog, He wants me to go to church… and that’s how I realized that right now, I am where He wants me to be.


¡Hola! Mi nombre es Mimi y hace dos días estaba aterrorizada con el día de San Valentín.

Si, suena loco, suena divertido y probablemente sonaré como una joven desesperada, pero no chicos, no estoy. Solamente soy una joven adulta con muchos libros, comedias románticas y Pinterest en su cabeza.

tv reactions tina fey valentine single

La mañana en la que me sentí asustada por el tan famoso día, estuve pensando en como me iba a sentir cada vez que viera algún post romántico de Instagram o fotos de una pareja que se ha comprometido. Sabía que iba a pasar preguntándole a Dios: “¡¿CUÁNDO SERÁ MI TURNO?!”

No mis queridos lectores, Dios no me texteó un “¡Hey Mims! El otro mes te toca a vos, así que lista. Te amo <3” o algo así, pero sentí paz en mi corazón cuando recordé las palabras que uno de mis amigos me dijo. El mencionó que para el Señor nada es imposible, y que si Él quisiera que ya tuviera una exitosa carrera como escritora o Él quisiera que tuviera un novio, Él lo haría, pero ahorita no quiere eso para mi, y está bien, porque todo es parte de su perfecto plan. 

Si, suena súper fácil de decir, pero para mi, creermelo ha sido difícil; en especial con toda esta gente diciéndome cosas como “Después de la universidad no vas a conocer a gente nueva, así que te vas a quedar sola”, “¡Ya tenes 22 y no tenés nada formal! Ya no sos una niñita, hay que empezar a buscar algo serio” y la clásica (y peor de todas) “Aspiras o buscás mucho en alguien, así que te vas a quedar sola por eso”.

Créanme que sería tan fácil hablar con cada niño que es coqueto conmigo, besar a alguien que me parezca guapo y tener novios como si no hubiera mañana, pero…¿Qué diría Dios? ¿Qué dirían mis papás? ¿Los estaría honrando? (Eclesiastes 7:1)

*PORFA PORFA PORFA hay que entender que existe una diferencia entre andar buscando novio y solo conocer personas, y creo fuertemente que no hay que estar encerradas en el cuarto esperando a que Dios nos mande a alguien y esa persona vendrá y tocará la puerta. Tienen que salir e involucrarse en actividades que les gustan, para que así conozcan gente que tiene los mismos intereses que ustedes. Si les gusta cierto tipo de música, ir a viajes de misiones, ir a grupos de jóvenes, clases de cocina o aprender un nuevo idioma, háganlo, disfruten y formen nuevas amistades. Hablen con nuevas personas y lleguen a conocerlas. No todo niño que conozcamos tendrá material de novio, pero pueden terminar convirtiéndose en grandes amigos que les ayudarán a crecer como personas. Y PORFA, asegúrense de no ir a Tinder a buscar una relación cristiana…SIMPLEMENTE NO.

Arriba hablé sobre el plan de Dios y su tiempo, y les tengo que admitir que para mi ser paciente es la lucha más grande de todas. Quiero todas las cosas instantáneamente y cuando no obtengo lo que quiero, me enojo con Dios y con la vida. Ahorita mismo quisiera salir con el guapo -altote y físicamente perfecto a mis ojitos- chico que conocí, pero luego, cuando estoy en mis 5 sentidos, me doy cuenta que: 1. Me dejó en seen el lunes antepasado y lo más importante, que no estoy lista para ningún tipo de relación, por lo que tener una no sería la decisión más sabia.

Soy literalmente una nueva cristiana, a veces se me olvida que mi principal propósito en esta vida es glorificar al Señor, a veces tengo dudas, he hecho el tener a alguien que me acompañe un ídolo y a veces flaqueo en mi fe. Hay muchas cosas sobre el cristianismo que no entiendo y a penas tengo un mes que comencé a ir a la Iglesia con mi mami y mi abuelita (GLORIA A DIOS POR ESO <3) así que ahorita mismo, tener una relación sería un #epicfail y no sería la relación cristiana y buena que aspiro a tener (Colossians 3:2).

Esta no es una historia con final de cuento, y este San Valentín será uno más en el que pasaré sola, pero es la primera vez que no me siento con miedo. El Señor me ha mostrado que hay más en este mundo que tener una pareja. No me malinterpreten, siempre creo que una relación donde hay amor real -como el de mis papás- es una cosa preciosa, y siempre me quiero casar y todo eso, pero todavía no es el momento.

Dios no me quiere con un chico ahorita, pero Él quiere que disfrute tiempo con mis increíbles, guapas y maravillosas amigas. Él quiere que trabaje para seguir con las buenas notas. Él quiere que haga lo mejor que pueda en mi trabajo, Él quiere que siga escribiendo para mi blog y para Thought Catalog, Él quiere que vaya a la Iglesia…y es así como me voy dando cuenta que justo ahora, estoy donde Dios quiere que yo esté.

Responder

