A Beautiful heart

mimi01

YOUR HEART IS BEAUTIFIL! Yes it is! But have you ever thought about what makes it beautiful? No, is not the way your nose wrinks when something makes you laugh, is not the heart you have for the little girls and is not the way you shine when you talk about your dreams, I mean, that is part of it, but  what really makes your heart beautiful is the fact that Christ lives inside. 

Beauty is a word that makes me feel nervous, specially when it comes to physical beauty. The last 10 years of my life I’ve been questioning my worth and basing everything on how I look or how much I weight. I’ve forgotten how funny or creative I am because my main concern is how much the scale marks. If it marks 102 pounds, I’m pretty, if it marks more than 105 I’m ugly and I don’t deserve to do my hair or put nice clothes. Can you imagine how I feel if my weight is more than 105 pounds?. At my 21 years old, it’s a little bit embarrassing to talk about this, but I’ve realized that the struggles on my life are there for a reason.

I’ve always been a believer. I started as catholic girl but on 2014, I decided to change my religion to christianism. I’ve had my highs and lows on my faith, but on december, I realized that I need Jesus on my life, and this is the first time ever that I crave for more of His presence and His greatness on my everyday. I want to learn more about Him and being closer to His love.

mimi04

Journaling, reading the Bible, reading christian blogs and surrounding myself with inspiring people has helped me on my walk and for the first time ever, I’ve started to question what beauty really means and what kind of beauty I want to have.

Because I like to be honest with you, my thoughts on beauty included a skinny body, a C cup, pouty lips, big eyes, pointy nose, sun bleached hair, tan skin, thin arms, a Kylie Jenner booty and an Alexis Ren waist, and after years of trying to get a Tumblr girl look, I’m starting to realize that I will never be like them, and I guess it’s fine, because I want to start growing and working on my inner beauty. I want to be the kind of girl that shines and reflects the love of Jesus on her life. I want to be someone that is loved for her heart and for the intentions that it has. I want to pursue a pure heart and try to become every day a better human being.

mimi02

Growing your inner beauty doesn’t mean that you are going to spend your days without showering, eating all time junk food, wearing not flattering clothes and no makeup, working just on what is inside. Life is a journey and if you like to wear cute dresses, doing your makeup or painting your nails, do it! celebrate and honor the body and the appearence the Lord has given to you, but don’t make it the center of your life and existance. Always try to improve and to be better, do your best to reach your goals and make an effort to be healthy and achieve a healthy lifestyle. That is not bad and it doesn’t mean vanity, but please, don’t forget to work on your inner beauty as hard as you work on your outside beauty.

Me, Mimi, the girl that loves to take selfies and uploading snaps is telling you about that. If you just focus your attention on the physical beauty, you will feel like you are never enough and you will always want more but still, you are going to feel empty and worthless. More pounds to drop, more makeup to wear, more clevage to show, more attention from boys and more need of approval.

While I was praying, I’ve realized that I take thousands of snaps and selfies just to get approval and attention from determined people, but also I realized that I’m much more that a pair of nice eyebrows. I’m the daughter of a king. I am worthy and I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

We are precious jewels for the Lord and He is crazy about us!  How exciting is that!

Then you will be a beautiful crown in the hand of the LORD, a royal crown in the hand of your God – Isaiah 62:3

Photos by: Esther Requeno


mimi03

¡TU CORAZÓN ES LINDO! ¡SÍ LO ES! Pero, ¿alguna vez han pensado qué hace lindo a tu corazón? No, no es la manera en la que se te hacen unas arruguitas en la nariz cuando te ríes, no es el corazón que tengas por las niñitas pequeñas y tampoco es la manera en la que brillas cuando hablas de tus sueños. Digo, todo ese forma parte de, pero lo que realmente hace un corazón bello es el hecho que Cristo vive adentro de él.  

“Belleza” es una palabra que me hace sentirme nerviosa, especialmente cuando se trata de la belleza física. Los últimos 10 años de mi vida he estado cuestionando mi valor y basando todo en como me veo y cuánto peso. He olvidado lo creativa y divertida que soy, porque mi preocupación principal es los números que la báscula marca. Si indica 102 libras, soy linda, pero si indica 105, soy fea y no merezco arreglarme ni vestirme bonito. ¿Se imaginan como me siento cuando marca más de 105 libras?. A mis 21 años, encuentro un poco vergonzoso hablar de eso, pero me he dado cuenta que las luchas de mi vida, existen por una determinada razón.

Siempre he sido creyente. Empecé como una chica católica, pero en el 2014 me hice evangélica. He tenido mis altos y bajos respecto a mi fe, pero en diciembre, me di cuenta que necesito a Jesús en mi vida, y que esta es la primera vez que de verdad busco más de su presencia y de aprender más de Él todos los días.

Escribir en mi libretita, leer la Biblia, leer blogs cristianos y acercarme a personas inspiradoras me ha ayudado en mi caminar y por primera vez, me he comenzado a hacer muchas preguntas, y una de ellas es sobre la belleza y qué tipo de belleza deseo tener. 

Porque me gusta ser honesta con ustedes, mis pensamientos sobre ser bonita incluían un cuerpo flaquito, labios gruesos, nariz respingada, cabello decolorado por el solo -ajá un balayage o californiano, por favor- , brazos delgaditos, un trasero estilo Kylie Jenner y una cinturita de avispa a lo Alexis Ren, y después de años de tratar de verme como niña Tumblr, me he dado cuenta que no me veo así, y supongo que está bien, porque quiero empezar a crecer y trabajar en mi belleza interna. Quiero ser el tipo de niña que brilla y refleja el amor de Jesús en su vida. Quiero ser alguien que es amada por su corazón y por las intenciones de este.Quiero buscar un corazón más puro y ser mejor ser humano cada día.

Aclaro que crecer en nuestra belleza interna no significa que vamos a pasar días con la cara lavada, sin bañarse, comiendo solo chatarra, usando ropa que nos quede mal y sin maquillaje, solo trabajando en nuestro interior. La vida es un viaje y si les gusta usar vestiditos bonitos, maquillarse o pintarse las uñas, ¡háganlo! celebren y honren su cuerpo y la apariencia que Dios les ha dado, pero no hagan esto una vanidad y el centro de su existencia. Siempre traten de mejorar, hagan lo mejor que puedan por alcanzar sus metas, hagan un esfuerzo y busquen un estilo de vida saludable. Esto no es malo, pero por favor, no olviden trabajar también en su belleza interna de la misma manera en la que trabajan por la externa. 

Yo, Mimi, la niña que ama tomarse selfies y subir snaps, se los dice. Si solamente nos enfocamos en la belleza externa, nos vamos a sentir como si no somos lo suficiente y siempre vamos a querer más, pero aún así nos vamos a sentir vacíos y sin valor. Vamos a querer perder más libras, usar más maquillaje, mostrar más escote, más atención de los niños y más aprobación.

Cuando estaba orando, me di cuenta que me tomo miles de snaps y selfies solo para buscar la aprobación y atención de determinadas personas, pero también me di cuenta que soy mucho más que un par de cejas bonitas. Soy la hija de un Rey. Soy valiosa y fui creada por un maravilloso Dios con un gran amor.

Todas somos preciosas joyas para el Señor. ¡Él está loco por nosotras! ¡Qué emocionante es eso!

Serás en la mano del Señor como una corona esplendorosa, ¡como una diadema real en la palma de tu Dios! – Isaías 62:3

 Fotos por: Esther Requeno

Responder

