An open letter to the guys I’ve liked before

 

letter

I remember originally writing this post on March of 2015. I was feeling courageous, happy and dressed up in love. Today is December of 2016, and the feeling of gratefulness is here, invading my heart and my soul.

Once again, I decided to write an open letter to you, to all the guys that have left a print on my journey. I feel thankful for your lives, even if it sounds crazy, but I must admit that if it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t be here, shining bright and feeling strong and courageous.

I want to start telling you that sometimes I still wonder what would have happened if the crush was mutual, if you had noticed me or if everything had worked between us.  Sometimes I still think about all those missing experiences that we could have lived together and all the songs that we could have slow danced.

I couldn’t help but wonder about what would have happened between us. Would be still be dating? Who would have dumped who?

Also, I think of the girl I would be if we were together. Would I be the girl that falls in love or the one that makes guys fall in love? Would I be cheesy or not? Would I have left my friends for you? Would my family have accepted our relationship? What kind of music, movies or jokes would I like?

And after all those thoughts, I make to myself the biggest question. Would I ever have started writing?

My answer was hard to digest, but I realized that I wouldn’t be the person that I am now –which I am proud of- if it wasn’t for you.

When I met you, I learned a lot about myself.  I learned to cherish who I am and not be ashamed of me, the girl that loves fashion, beauty and writing. The girl that can make dirty jokes but at the same time, can have a conversation about life and the universe. The girl that deeply admires Carrie Bradshaw, loves the Kardashians and reads Sophia Amoruso’s books, but also has an interest in Picasso, Andy Warhol, the history of art and reads Tolstoi and Vladimir Nabokov. The girl that enjoys watching Mean Girls but has a thing with Tarantino’s films. The girl that loves to drink Coca Cola and eat food truck Tacos, but also can enjoy a wine tasting and a fancy dinner.

I learned to appreciate my family and the precious time I share with my best friends, so if any guy wants me to change them over him, it’s just not worth of my time. I learned to understand mixed signals, and I learned to live even though you weren’t “not that into me”.

I could spend hours saying all things I learned from your rejections and all the times you made me feel small, but the only one I want to share with all the people that is reading me, is that I realized that I won’t be one that will to make you change. And guess what? My life is fine with that.

Yes, in some moments I wanted to be that special girl with who you talked via text all time or the one that made you feel nervous. I prayed every night to be the girl you talked about to your friends and that you showed off on Instagram. I wanted so bad to be the one you thought about when you woke up. I wished with all my heart to have real dates or even Skype dates every Saturday night. I wanted so badly to be your significant other…but that never happened.

I   know it sounds dramatic, but my goal here, is not to sound miserable, sad or as if I am begging for the attention I never got. Now I am confident enough to talk about my feelings, and all I have to say is THANK YOU. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

Thank you because I realized that before being happy with someone else, I have to be with myself. Thank you for showing me that NO means NO, because when you want something or someone, distance or time is not an excuse. Thank you because you made me realize that I am not interested in being anyones’ mom or psychologist. I want to be your partner in crime, your best friend and your significant other. Thank you because I’ve developed a radar to know what kind of intentions guys have with me, so if I don’t like it, I just walk my way. Thank you because I am not “the other woman” or the latina girlfriend of a foreigner, who has five more on his country. Than you because I am not the jealous, clingy or annoying girlfriend. Thank you because even though I felt bad when my “crush” was not corresponded, I was able to walk away and stay strong.

Finally, I end this post saying THANK YOU again, because without you, I would never had have the guts to start writing five years ago and creating stories that girls could feel identified and inspired. Without you, I wouldn’t be the able to speak my mind through words and touch hearts.

Sometimes I think about how it’s going to be when we meet again. My heart is full of joy and forgiveness, and that’s why I really wish you the best.

I am sure that the next time we meet, things will be different, because you will see me dressed up in love. Love for my life, my people, my career and the person that I am.

The next time you see me, maybe we won’t have the chance to talk, because thanks to you and all the stories you inspired me to write, I will be running late for my meeting with Cosmopolitan, the magazine I will be writing for.

Sincerely,

The girl that one time was in love with all of you.


Recuerdo que originalmente escribí este post en marzo del 2015. Me estaba sintiendo valiente, feliz y vestida en amor. Ahora es diciembre del 2016 y el sentimiento de gratitud está aquí, invadiendo mi corazón y mi alma.

Una vez más, decidí escribirle una carta abierta a ustedes, los chicos que han dejado una huella en mi camino. Aunque suene loco, me siento agradecida por sus vidas, porque debo admitir que si no fuera por ustedes, no estaría aquí, brillando y sintiéndome fuerte y valiente.  

 

Quiero comenzar diciéndoles que aveces todavía me pregunto que hubiera pasado si la atracción hubiera sido mutua. Me pregunto qué hubiera pasado si se hubieran fijado en mi o si todo hubiera funcionado entre nosotros. Todavía pienso en todas esas experiencias que pudimos haber vivido juntos y todas esas canciones que pudimos haber bailado.   

También me pregunto sobre nosotros. ¿Seguiríamos juntos? ¿Quién habría dejado a quién?

Pienso en la chica que fuera si fueramos novios. ¿Sería de las que se enamoran o de las que los chicos están enamorados? ¿Sería cursi? ¿Habría dejado a mis amigas por tí? ¿Habrían aceptado mis papas nuestra relación? ¿Qué tipo de música, películas o chistes me gustarían?

Después de todas esas interrogantes, me hice la más grande, ¿habría empezado a escribir?

Cuando supe mi respuesta, me di cuenta que no sería la persona que soy ahora, y de la que estoy orgullosa, si no fuera por ustedes.

 

Cuando los conocí, aprendí mucho sobre mi. Aprendí a celebrar y aceptar la persona que soy , la chica que ama la moda, la belleza y escribir. La chica que puede hacer bromas pero al mismo tiempo, puede tener una conversación sobre la vida y el universo contigo. La chica que admira a Carrie Bradshaw, le encantan las Kardashians y lee a Sophia Amoruso, pero tiene un interés por Picasso, Andy Warhol, la historia del arte y lee a Tolstoi y a Vladmir Nabokov. La chica que disfruta ver Mean Girls, pero también las peliculas de Tarantino. La chica que ama una Coca Cola con tacos de carretón, pero también disfrutaría una cata de vino y una cena elegante.

Apendí a apreciar a mi familia y el valioso tiempo que comparto con mis mejores amigos, así que si algún chico quiere que los deje por estar con él, definitivamente no vale mi tiempo. Aprendí a no andar en juegos y a seguir mi vida a pesar que yo a ti “no te guste tanto”.

Podría pasar horas diciendo todo lo que aprendí de sus rechazos y las veces que me sentí pequeñita, pero hay una sola cosa que quiero compartir con todas las personas que me leen, y es que me dí cuenta que yo nunca seré la chica que los hará cambiar.

 

Si, en algunos momentos yo quería ser esa chica especial con la que hablaban todo el día o la que los hacía sentir nerviosos.  Todas las noches oraba para ser la chica de la que le hablaran a sus amigos y presumieran en Instagram. Quería con todo mi corazón ser en quien pensaran cada mañana. Deseaba profundamente que pudieramos tener citas o por lo menos, interminables pláticas en Skype todos los sábados por la noche. Quería con todas mis fuerzas ser su persona especial…pero eso nunca pasó.

 

Sé que suena dramático, pero mi meta aquí, no es sonar miserable, triste o que si estoy necesitada de la atención que nunca tuve. Ahora soy lo suficientemente segura de mi para hablar de mis sentimientos, y todo lo que les debo decir es un GRACIAS. ¡MIL GRACIAS! 

Gracias porque aprendí a darme cuenta que antes de ser feliz con alguien más, debo serlo conmigo misma. Gracias porque aprendí que NO significa No, porque cuando realmente se desea algo, el tiempo y la distancia no son una excusa. Gracias porque me hicieron darme cuenta que no estoy para ser la mamá o psicóloga de nadie, porque yo quiero ser la mejor amiga, novia y compañera de aventuras de esa persona. Gracias porque no soy “la otra” o la novia latina de algún extranjero que en su país tiene a 5 novias más. Gracias porque no soy la novia celosa, necesitada o molesta. Gracias porque a pesar que me sentí mal cuando mi crush no fue correspondido, tuve la capacidad de seguir adelante y mantenerme fuerte. 

 

Finalmente, termino este post diciendo ¡Gracias! porque si no fuera con ustedes, jamás hubiera tenido el valor de empezar a escribir hace 5 años y de crear historias con las que muchas niñas se sintieran identificadas e inspiradas. Gracias, porque sin ustedes, no tuviera la capacidad de expresar mis ideas a través de palabras. 

A veces, pienso en cómo será cuando nos volvamos a ver. Mi corazón está lleno de alegría y perdón, por lo que les deseo lo mejor. 

 

Estoy segura que la próxima vez que nos encontremos, las cosas serán diferentes, porque esta vez, me verán vestida de amor. Amor por mi vida, por mi gente, por mi carrera y por la persona que soy. 

La próxima vez que nos veamos, probablemente no tengamos la oportunidad de hablar, porque gracias a ustedes y todas las historias que me inspiraron a escribir, me verán corriendo tarde y en camino para mi reunión con Cosmopolitan, la revista para la que escribiré. 

Atentamente, 

La chica que laguna vez estuvo enamorada de ustedes

 

Pueden leer el post original aqui: https://www.belelu.com/2015/03/carta-abierta-a-los-chicos-que-me-han-gustado/

 

 

Responder

